3/29/11 Forgotten Natural Wonders of the World

25 Apr

I was assigned the seven forgotten natural wonders of the world which included Kraktoa Island, Bay of Fundy, Niagra Falls, Angel Falls, Iguassu Falls, Mount Fuji, and Mount Kilimanjaro.

I was esthetically inspired by Mount Fuji and decided to use it as the physical medium through which I would present my dish.  David and I put our heads together and came up with the use of a funnel into which we would layer all of the ingredients of my recipe to create the looks of Mount Fuji.  The question remaining was what would be the dish.

I started reading about the different cuisines from the regions of the other natural wonders.  In reading about Mount Kilimanjaro, located in eastern Tanzania I came a cross a Tanzanian recipe that would incorporate ingredients I don’t routinely utilize in cooking.  The dish was a special recipe called Duckling Dar Es Salaam (a town in Tanzania).  I decided to substitute lamb for duck but held true to the other ingredients in the recipe.  I pressure cooked the lamb with curry, thai chili pepper, and cherry tomatoes then emulsified and reduced this into a sauce to pour over the lamb.  The base of Mount Fuji was a spicey braised cabbage in coconut milk (another Tanzanian recipe).  I finished off the dish by surrounding it with sake, ginger infused vodka pickled fuji apple sticks which off set the spicy lamb ingredients and made reference back to Mount Fuji.

Mount Fuji

My version

One Response to “3/29/11 Forgotten Natural Wonders of the World”

  1. JimK April 25, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    Sounds delicious and really good idea about the funnel. Sorry I missed seeing and tasting the result!

Leave a Reply

