Episode #5 (3/19/11) winning theme & course assignments

8 Mar

Voting is closed, and the winning theme is:

Wonders of the World: using a mix of ancient and modern, chosen randomly then matched up with the number of people/courses for the evening.  With instruction from the theme’s creator, we are taking our cues from the various lists found on this “Wonder Club” page.

FrancineO wrote the eight people’s names, and eight “categories” of wonders on slips of paper, and then we drew a name from one mixing bowl, and a category of wonders out of another mixing bowl with the following results:

Notes:

  • Please post (or comment) here, or on the Facebook page announcing just some basic info of what you’ll be preparing (ie; “soup” or “fish”) so as to avoid awkward dish duplication; I’ll keep the menu on the Episode #5 event page updated.
  • Course trading is allowed.  If you’ve arranged a switch, leave a comment and I’ll update the menu.
  • Participants assigned sequential courses can collaborate to plate them together (ie; protein + side).
  • How you interpret your assigned Wonder category is entirely up to you; the theme is only for inspiration.
  • Don’t forget to plan your beverage pairing.
  • Please give a heads-up if you’ll be tying up all 4 burners, or need the oven at 550 for 3 hours, etc. — if necessary, we can re-arrange the sequence.
  • Also, let everyone know if you have a food allergy or phobia, (you know, so we can make sure we have adequate epinephrine and benzodiazepines on hand).
  • We have plenty of cooking equipment, ingredients, spices, and serving-ware.  Post questions and requests regarding details or specific items you don’t see on the list.
  • Extra, between-course amuse bouches and beverages are welcome, encouraged, and completely open season with regards to theme-appropriateness.

9 Responses to “Episode #5 (3/19/11) winning theme & course assignments”

  1. kelamity March 11, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    I’m planning on making a baked fish fillet dish for the fourth course. If this creates an “awkward dish duplication” for anyone let me know.

  2. francineo1 March 11, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    Sounds great Kelamity. I am planning on making a lamb dish. Let me know if this presents a problem for anyone.

    f

  3. superhorsefeathers March 13, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    Ok, I think I’m making some time of raw fish with coconut for the second course; I am pretty sure that won’t clash with the baked fish dish.

    • thatgirl March 13, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

      no offense, superhorsefeathers, but I was assigned “underwater wonders”, and you were assigned “forgotten wonders of the medieval mind”; i was thinking that it might be a bit more apropos for me to cover my assignment with a fish dish, which immediately came to my mind upon said assignment.

      can we get a ruling on this, dave?

  4. jdavidar March 13, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    It’s a tough theme, but it’s all good…
    Ruling is: there’s plenty of fish in the sea. Kelamity’s using fish, and I have it on good authority that FrancineO is using coconut in her lamb dish, which overlaps with Joanna’s coconut fish which will overlap with your fish… if the theme won that had “each dish must incorporate one ingredient from the previous dish” we’d be right on track. Perhaps the involved parties could correspond directly by email:
    https://thefeedmecollective.wordpress.com/member-email-list-contact-info/
    and fess up to the specifics of the planned dishes — my guess would be that they’ll complement more than clash, and ultimately be more different than similar. FWIW, I drew the “unforgotten” medieval wonders, and I’m NOT using fish, nor coconut.

  5. kelamity March 14, 2011 at 12:45 am #

    i don’t know my password or if i ever got one, so i’ll just post here. my fish.. depending on what’s good at Citarella that day, will be a firm white fish in some form, roasted and with flavors inspired by Greece. that’s all i’m giving away and btw i don’t think i’ve ever cooked a fish 🙂

  6. superhorsefeathers March 14, 2011 at 8:25 am #

    I didn’t mean to step on any toes (or fish in this case). I can change courses. I tried to email privately but the password that I do remember isn’t working. I was very well aware of the theme that I was assigned to. I was going for a Polynesian inspired dish based on the Moai statues of Rapa Nui. Tuna & coconut are main staples in Polynesian cuisine. I feel tuna is a very specific flavor for fish & that there are so many types of fish with different flavors, it wouldn’t intefere. I had noted that you were assigned the underwater theme. I just didn’t know what you had planned since you never mentioned it & I didn’t think it would intefere since the flavors I was planning are not the first thing you think of when you think of a fish dish. So that’s where I was headed. I’ll easily do an about face & come up with something brand new-no fish, I promise! I don’t want to cause any upset!!

  7. nutmeggah March 16, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    I have decided to prepare my version of a Vegetarian Tibetan Soup to represent Natural Wonder of the World Mt. Everest and the coming of spring. Or Beef? Not Sure?

  8. thatgirlinnewyork March 19, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    eh–I’ve been too distracted this week to worry about how many fish dishes there’d be. wasn’t sure whether maestro envisioned more distinction, or if we were being strict in any way. hopefully, my soup/cooked shellfish combo (the soup is make-ahead, the shell fish a simple saute sur place).

    richard’s dessert offering is make-ahead.

    looking forward!

Leave a Reply

