Metal. Kitchen alchemy and a magical evening.

14 Feb

“The Feed Me Collective is a great idea.. we had a blast! I had to come up with a metal inspired 7th course and started thinking in terms of molten and fluid. I like the idea of themes that can really stand up to some interpretation. I remembered seeing Giada De Laurentiis make a weird panini a few years ago that I always wanted to try… brie, chocolate and basil on sourdough bread brushed with olive oil. Sounds like a pretty unusual combination so then the word alchemy came to mind.

Alchemy

Besides turning metal into gold.. blah blah, one of the Merriam-Webster entries worked in my defense, “a power or process of transforming something common into something special.” With an example: “She practiced her alchemy in the kitchen, turning a pile of vegetables into a delicious salad.” Bingo! I didn’t try it out or practice ahead of time, all i did in preparation was research where to get the best sourdough bread.

Sourdough

As is the case with everything on the internet, people are pretty opinionated, some even saying that good sourdough can not be made in New York. I tried Le Pain Quotidien, Eli’s and ended up going with the sourdough baguette from Silver Moon Bakery.

Assembly

I meant to do some sort of metal garnish with wire I brought but I forgot being that I was 7th course and already had a lot to drink.

Getting molten

I decided to pair my sweet and savory course with a Riesling. John and I went to the wine store and looked at the Rieslings but nothing was jumping out at us (him), then the wine seller came over with a bottle of Washington State Riesling and John said “get that” so I did.

Gold

Everyone’s dishes were amazing! I wasn’t expecting so much on-site cooking and it ended up being way more interesting than a pot luck sort of dinner. It was fun prepping for others and observing their techniques and it also gave us plenty of time to get ready for the next round of eating and drinking. What a great way to spend time with friends and meet new ones. The next day John and I were stumbling around the MOMA and I laughed my ass off when I said, “what about David’s big production and then i just threw a sandwich on a plate?” Hahaha.. good times! I’m really looking foward to another FMC challenge.”

Kelamity

Leave a Reply

